Shenandoah Community School District Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors – March 10, 2025 Administration Board Room

Call to Order:

Board President Jean Fichter called the meeting to order at 5:00 pm.

Roll Call:

Roll Call was answered by Directors Jean Fichter, Glenn Mason, Brent Twyman, Adam Van Der Vliet, and Clint Wooten. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Kerri Nelson, School Business Official William Barrett, and Board Secretary Lisa Holmes.

Mission Statement:

The SCSD Mission Statement was read by Director Mason.

Welcome to Audience:

President Fichter welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Open Forum:

President Fichter read the rules for speaking during the open forum. The was no public comment.

Administrative Reports:

District Career and Academic Plan:

Mrs. Green, Mr. Ratliff and Mrs. Martin gave an overview of the DCAP goals for 2024-25, the survey results gathered at parent/teacher conferences, work-based learning data and the next steps for the district team.

Middle School Scheduling Changes:

Mr. Burdorf shared changes being made for the next school year. Fifth and Sixth teachers will be creating their own schedules for academic learning. Students will be getting a second recess during the morning and one hour of intervention/enrichment will be part of their day. Band will also have an uninterrupted class each day. Seventh and Eighth grade students will have 25 minutes of enrichment added in which each teacher will have an academic based mini unit. Students would rotate teachers every 5-6 weeks.

Consent Agenda:

Approve the consent agenda to include previous minutes, the financial accounts, the payment of bills, fundraising requests and out-of-state travel requests. Personnel Requests: Contracts 2025-26: Jennifer Johnson, Special Education Administrator - \$89,500. Resignations: Nicole Belt, PK4 – effective end of school year; Bailey Campin, HS Guidance Counselor, MS Volleyball, Asst. HS Track – effective end of school year; Ryan O'Rourke, MS Girls Basketball; Ryan Spiegel, HS Boys Basketball. Transfers 2025-26: Kimberly Bjorklund, JK to Title I; Skippy Eckhardt, HS PE to 7th Grade Math. Modifications (pending all requirements are met): Kady Armstrong, BA to MA; Andrew Campbell, BA to BA+15; Kendria Johnson, BA to BA+15; Stephanie Langner, MA to MA+15; Kristin Moore, BA+15 to MA; Emma Roberts, BA+15 to BA+30; Darbi Rope, BA to BA+15. Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Wooten. Motion carried unanimously.

Action Items:

Approve AEA Purchasing Agreement for Food, Small Wares and Ware Wash for 2025-26:

Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Mason. Motion carried unanimously.

Approve Renewal of the Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Commission Natural Gas Program for 2025-26:

Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Wooten. Motion carried unanimously.

Approve Quote from Decker Equipment for Graduation Stage - \$16,630.50:

Motion by Director Wooten, second by Director Van Der Vliet. Motion carried unanimously.

Approve Quote from BR Bleachers for Middle School Repairs and Improvements:

Motion to approve by Director Van Der Vliet, second by Director Mason. Motion carried unanimously.

Informational Items:

Special Meeting – March 24, 2025 at 5:00 pm

Next Regular Meeting – April 14, 2025 at 5:00 pm

Adjournment:

Motion by Director Mason, second by Director Van Der Vliet to adjourn the meeting at 5:28 pm. Motion carried unanimously.